While I understand that men have hormones too, I have to say that women really got the short end of the stick on this one. Theirs help them loose weight, ours tend to not. Then there’s that magical time once a month when you bloat with water weight and wonder what you’re doing wrong to have gotten so much bigger overnight. You’re not doing anything wrong, of course. Just being a woman.

Hormones make us crave things like we’re pregnant, even when we’re not. Look and feel like we’re gaining back weight, even when we’re not.  Feel extremely tired and sluggish, even when we’ve gotten proper amounts of sleep and nutrition. You may think you want to work out during this time, but your body has other ideas. Basically, the deck is stacked against you and there isn’t much you can do about it. After years of this less than magical experience, I have learn to simply relax into as best I can and wait for it to be over.

This too shall pass is more or less my mantra for the time being. It’s like being caught in a current. Fighting it only makes it worse. The more you try not to think about that food you’re craving, the more you will end up thinking about it. If you just allow the craving to settle within you as you go about some other task, before you realize it, the craving’s gone and you can move peacefully on with your life. If you’re trying desperately to get through a workout and your body just isn’t having it, let it go. You can try again tomorrow, or even later on today perhaps. Either way, it’s not worth suffering endlessly through, souring you to the entire experience.

At least this is my own personal way of dealing and feeling. It’s what I’ve found to be best after a great deal of trial and error. Mostly error. This is normally where I would quit if I hadn’t already. Sweets are just too tempting right now. I long for the comfort of carbs. So I’ve started a project, rearranging and exchanging two rooms in our house for each other. It keeps me physically active and just distracted enough without being so consuming and pressing that it adds stress and mess to our lives. I don’t know what I’ll do about next month, but next month I’ll be in the “Balance” stage of Ignite. I’ll be able to indulge a little. It won’t be so dire a circumstance. I just have to keep from going overboard when that time comes.

Until then,

~me💋

