Yesterday was not one for the record books. It was just an all around bad day- nothing was going the way I wanted it to. Such is life. I don’t particularly care for going to bed feeling so crummy about… well anything and everything really. So at 2 in the morning, after a hint of rest, I climbed back out of bed and put in my workout for the day. Even though it was technically the next day, and even though I was way past the deadline in my own mind, I still did it. The sense of accomplishment from something so small is astounding. Took me maybe a half hour to complete it, and by the time I was done, I was dancing to Todrick Hall’s “All That Azz” in the shower. My mood boosted and relieved far more by exercising than by all the semi-naughty food I’d been sucking in all day.

There’s a very serious lesson for me in that. Being one who is guilty of the sins of both emotional eating and eating just because you’re bored, I tend to trash my body rather than tend to it in times of distress. There is a marriage between feeling good and sugar in my life stemming all the way from childhood. But I can’t have sugar right now. I’m “Igniting.” Keeping my system totally free of “The Evil 6.” Miraculously I managed to steer clear of my favorite comfort food all day yesterday, but it did not make me happy to do so. In fact my mood only soured further as the night wore on. By the time I went to bed I was crabby little butthead.

Don’t get me wrong, working out kinda sucked a little bit. It was uncomfortable and my very sincere hatred of sweating made me question why I was doing it in the first place. (Honestly, if the options of being in constant low-level pain but never having have to sweat a single drop ever again or never feeling pain again but sweating a simply normal amount were ever presented to me by some magical being, I would take the constant pain in a heartbeat. I hate sweating that much!) But by the time I was about halfway done, something strange had happened. I had begun to smile. There is, of course, science behind this, but it was science that had never really applied to me before. This was a new and exciting experience! Might I actually be enjoying my little sweatfest!?

Endorphins are magical, but they generally don’t really do it for me. By the end of a workout I usually just feel hot, tired and irritated. This time I was energized! So I wrote two more chapters in my book, ate a rockin’ breakfast and rolled out to the Global Leadership Summit for my first time ever. (I suspect I will be getting a lot of mileage out of this experience in many ways.) Since I spent my day exercising my grey matter on very little sleep, I’m now crawling into bed at the very elderly hour of 6:30PM. Ideally I’ll sleep for a solid 12 hours- Lord knows I need it. I’m counting the walk I took during the lunch break as my workout for the day, and I ate angelically so I’m feeling pretty guilt free. All in all, a much improved day.

~me💋

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED 8/14/14*

 

Day 3 seems to be lost forever… :/

